Home | Campground | Community Building / Annex | Turkey Trot | Summer Fest | Ruritan Club

turkeytrot2017 Turkey Trot


Championship Trophy Presentation for Top Turkey Racer

Picture here is Turkey Trot Chairman (Left) Dewayne Shake as he presents the Championship Trophy to Dalton Knepp after he won the Turkey Race Championship with a time of 10.75 seconds just about a second faster than his brother Kayden Knepp (11.68) and about two seconds faster than the number three racer Noah Anderson (12:08). It was one of the most competitive races ever at the Turkey Trot. This is the third year in a row that Dalton Knepp has won the Champion and it is his last year of eligibility as he is an 8th grader at Barr-Reeve Schools. Picture by Louis Kavanaugh Jr.


Top Three Finishers in Turkey Races from Montgomery Turkey Trot

Pictured here is the Champion Turkey Racer and the two runner ups from the Montgomery Turkey Trot. Shown here (Left to Right) is Dalton Knepp who won the Championship race with a time of 10.75 seconds for his third straight year as the Champion of all the turkey racers. In second place was his younger brother Kayden Knepp with a time of 11:68 and in third place was Noah Anderson with a time of 12:08 seconds. It may have been one of the most competitive championship races ever. Dalton and Kayden are the sons of Keith & Stephanie Knepp. Noah Anderson is the son of Matt and Rachel Anderson. Finishing in 4th place was Logan Gallagher and in 5th place was Chase Kavanaugh. All are students at Barr-Reeve Schools. Over 75 racers started on Thursday night and the finals were held on Sunday afternoon. Picture by Louis Kavanaugh Jr.  

The Racers to the Starting Line
Just Prior to to the Champion Race the five Finalists line up for the start of the race. Behind each of the racers is the timers as they record the time for each racer. Lining up on the right is No. 1, Dalton Knepp, No. 2, Noah Anderson, No. 3, Kayden Knepp, No. 4, Chase Kavanaugh and No. 5, Logan Gallagher. Picture by Louis Kavanaugh Jr.

Close Finish for the Turkey Race Championship
You can see as Dalton Knepp is just crossing the finish line with his turkey "Triple Threat" and right behind him is his brother Kayden Knepp and in edge of the picture is Noah Anderson. It was a close finish for this championship race. Picture by Louis Kavanaugh Jr.

Five Finalist in the Turkey Races

Pictured above it the five finalists after each of them won their heat on Saturday of the semi-finals Turkey Races. Shown here is (L-R) Dalton Knepp, Noah Anderson, Kayden Knepp, Chase Kavanaugh and Logan Gallagher. Over 75 started on Thursday night and after the semi-finals they were down to five left. The Championship race was then held on the following day on the main track. Picture by Louis Kavanaugh Jr.

Winner of Turkey Trot Demo

Shown here is (L-R) Brian Fuhs Track Chairman, 1st Place winner is Luke Worland from Monroe City, 2nd Place Kaleb Bratton, Loogootee, 3rd Place Chad Stoll Cannelburg, Jeremy Lashley Track Chairman, Brian Baker Track Chairman. Picture by Louis Kavanaugh Jr.


Mini Demo Winners at Turkey Trot

Pictured above are the top two winners in the Montgomery Turkey Trot Mini Demo on Sunday. Shown here is on the left was Derrick Tinkle of Loogootee who finished second and on the far right was Eric Fisher of Washington who was the winner. In the middle was the Track Co-Chairmen, Tim Showalter, Vaughn Graber and Leo Barley Jr..

5K Winners from Turkey Trot Run

Pictured here are the winners from the 5K Run at the Montgomery Turkey Trot from this past Saturday. Shown here, Left to right: Overall winner: Ryan Rheam, 2nd Place winner: Madison Rahschulte Youngest Participant: Lyric Collison, Oldest Participant: Sam Strange, DCH Rehab Therapy Director/Ruritan Member: Dave Graber.


Graber & Hart Receive Ruritan Club Distinguished Service Awards For 2017

Pictured left to right are Elmer Lee Graber and Dennis Hart.  Prior to the Saturday night Sawyer Brown Show at the Montgomery Turkey Trot Festival, the Montgomery Ruritan Club presented its Distinguished Community Service Awards for 2017 to two long time club members Elmer Lee Graber and Dennis Hart.  Hart served as Club Vice-President in 2003, Club President in 2005 and Festival Chairman in 2006.  Graber served as Club Vice-President in 2009 and Club President in 2010. Both recipents have and continue to contribute to club and community activities in a variety of ways through the years.  DeWayne Shake, in his 13th year as a Turkey Trot Festival Chairman, made the



Horse Pull Championship Team of Horses

Shown above is the winner of the Horse Pulls that was held on Saturday morning of the Turkey Trot. The Team of Yoder & Hatfield out of Cromwell Kentucky was the winning team. On the left is Gary Wagler representing the Turkey Trot Committee as he presents the winners check and a horse blanket donated by Graber Post. Picture by Louis Kavanaugh Jr.


The Crowd at the Concert on Sat. Night

Shown above the concert crowd at the Turkey Trot on Saturday night. It may not have been the largest crowd ever but it sure was a large crowd. Sawer Brown Band has been together for 37 years and they put on a very good show.


Email: montgomeryruritanpark@gmail.com